English Literary Society

English Literary Society (ELS) is a forum comprising English Literature enthusiasts of GNW. Anyone with a little passion for literature and a bantamweight of curiosity can become a member. However, the students of M.A. (English) and Honours (English) course consequently become members of this Society.

We strongly believe that we are the fortunate inheritors of a tradition that allows citizens to speak their/our minds, and not many societies around the globe enjoy that – many peoples are fighting for that freedom, to their bitter cost.  To implement our right to speech, English Literary Society of the college is committed to writing – and reading – and trying to do inspiring, enjoyable, and exciting things with words.

The society conducts literary activities in the campus throughout the year. The main focus of the society is to see students being as comfortable with English language as they are with their mother tongues. Another aim of ELS is to generate a general appetite for reading, writing, and creating.

In its endeavour to engage the students with the understanding of art, life, and genres, the ELS organizes various drama events like enactments and theatre workshops, poetry recitation programs, interactive sessions, and extension lectures. In addition, inter-class competitions like debates, declamation contests, and creative writing competitions are also organized to nurture their interest in Literature and life and to instil a spirit of self-confidence.

Chief Patron: Dr. Maneeta Kahlon, Principal
Coordinator: Dr. Anupam Vatsyayan, Head, PG Department of English
Organizing Secretary: Mrs. Gagneet Pal Kaur, Assistant Professor in English
Committee Members:
Mrs. Kavita Kuplish
Ms. Kritika Gupta
Mrs. Upinder Kaur
Ms. Harshpreet Kaur
Mrs. Kanika Verma

Annual Reports

Sr.No. Session Document Link
1. 2023-2024 (Even Semester) View PDF
2. 2023-2024 (Odd Semester) View PDF
3. 2022-2023 (Even Semester) View PDF
4. 2022-2023 (Odd Semester) View PDF
5. 2021-2022 View PDF
6. 2020-2021 View PDF
7. 2019-2020 View PDF
8. 2018-2019 View PDF